Greater Lansing Area Sports
Hall of Fame
Founded by the Sports and Recreation Committee of the Lansing Bicentennial Commission and inaugurated July 4,
1976, the Greater Lansing Area Sports Hall of Fame was established to honor our nation's first 200 years through the
celebration of Mid-Michigan's athletic legacy.  Through the vision of the Lansing Bicentennial Commission and three
long-time residents - Clayton Kowalk of the Lansing School District, Walt Lingo of Lansing Community College and
Burt Smith of Michigan State University - the Greater Lansing Area Sports Hall of Fame stands as a symbol of
achievement, commemorating the collective dedication and spirit of our athletic community.
Carol Hutchins - HOF 2000
Earvin Johnson - HOF 1980
John Smoltz - HOF 1993
Kevin Jackson - HOF 1993
Brad Van Pelt - HOF 1995

11/01/15 - Deadline for nominations for the Class
of 2016.  Click on link above (Nomination
Process) for nomination guidelines and forms.

12/20/15 - Class of 2016 announced.

06/24/16 - Hall of Fame High School All Star
Softball games at Ranney Park.

07/24/16 - Run for Fame 5k, 10k run/walk along
the downtown riverwalk.

07/28/16 - Annual Hall of Fame Dinner &
Induction Ceremony at the Lansing Center
40th Annual Dinner &
Induction Ceremony a
Tremendous Success

The Greater Lansing Area Sports Hall of Fame
hosted its 40th Annual Dinner & Induction
Ceremony on July 30, 2015 at the Lansing Center.  
The event was enjoyed by over 600 people and
the Hall of Fame would like to thank the Lansing
Center staff and the attendees for making this
evening so special for the inductees and their
families.  We look forward to the coming year and
seeing you in 2016!

Class of 2015
Chuck Block     Jesse Gallegos    Fritz Kellermann   
Scott Kemp     Andy Simmons    Nick Simmons
Stephanie Smiley   Kim Spalsbury   Jamie Wesley   
1960 Haslett Football
1977 DeWitt Softball
1979 Lansing Eastern Boys Golf

Dick Letts Community Service Award
Larry Cockroft
Judge George Economy
Visit Alan Holben Photography's Gallery of
the 2015 Dinner & Induction Ceremony
by clicking
Muhsin Muhammad - HOF 2012
Hall of Fame corridor at the Lansing Center.
Visitors gather in the Hall of Fame corridors at the Lansing Center.
Muhammad Ali & Bob Every - HOF 1994

                 Message from
                 the Chairman

Dear Friends,

Forty years and counting.  The Greater Lansing Area Sports Hall
of Fame has come a long way since that first induction day at
Lansing Community College in the summer of 1976.  Walt Lingo,
Burt Smith and Clayton Kowalk's dream is alive and well.  With
the addition of 244 individuals and the selection of 52 teams, not
to mention a nomination list as long as your arm, the Selection
Committee members continue to keep their noses to the
grindstone as we press forward.

With the Lansing Center as our home, we can continue to expand
and grow into the Lansing area's most prestigious fraternity.  We
are indeed fortunate to have this partnership with the Lansing
Center.  We share the same philosophy and commitment to
recognizing the athletic heritage of the Greater Lansing Area and
together, we look forward to the future.

Name me one other place our size in this great country that has
produced as many talented athletes, coaches and community
leaders as we have right here in the Mid-Michigan area.  People
like Magic Johnson, John Smoltz, Charlie Gehringer, Dave Porter,
Judi Brown, Dean Look, Brad Van Pelt, Todd Martin, Kip, Kelly and
Kevin Miller, Carol Hutchins, Kevin Jackson, . . .  You get the
picture.  The list goes on and on.

We invite you to stop by and visit the Greater Lansing Area Hall
of Fame and relive the sports heritage of our area.

Bob Every, Chairman
Bob Every
Proud Sponsors
Magic Johnson Enterprises
DBI Office Furniture
ASAP Printing
Applegate Home Comfort
Auto-Owners Insurance
Dean Transportation
Lansing Center
Website Managed
Jeff Kegler
Honeybee Technics
Calendar of Events